top of page

Recently Pink Floyd had pulled a large portion of their catalog to stand in stature with Ukraine. Gilmour said" I hope it will receive wide support and publicity. We want to raise funds for humanitarian charities and raise morale. We want to express our support for Ukraine and in that way, show that most of the world agrees that it is wrong for a superpower to invade a independent democratic county that Ukraine has become.


A line from Hey, Hey, Rise Up!


In the meadow a red viburnum has bent down low. 

Our glorious Ukraine has been troubled so and we'll take that red viburnum and we will rise it up."

Pink Floyd has released its newest music since 1994 (not disregarding the endless river of course,) The single which features vocals from the Ukranian band  Boombox, is truly a historic piece of music promoting peace and unity. The song features Andriy Khlyvnuk on vocals from "Red vivurnum in the meadow". Gilmour had initially found a instagram post giving him the idea for the project. Pink Floyd recorded on March 30th with Mat Whitcross directing the music video. The lineup on the track includes Pink Floyd alum David Gilmour, Nick Mason and Guy Pratt. Joining in on keyboards was Nitin Sawhney who has worked with Paul McCartney, Sting, and others.

Pink Floyd and David Gilmour fans got the first chance to own the new song digitally  A CD and Vinyl edition was released on October 21 which includes a new reimagined version of "A Great Day For Freedom" originally released on The Division Bell in 1994. 

Anchor 1

David Gilmour was quoted "Its really a difficult and frustrating thing to see this extraordinarily crazy, unjust attack by a major power on an independent, peaceful, democratic nation. The frustration of seeing that and thinking 'what the fuck can I do?' is sort of unbearable."Gilmour phoned his band mates, who agreed to get on board with the project with ease. "I wouldn't do this with many more things, but its so vitally, vitally important that people understand whats going on there and do everything in their power to change the situation. The thought, also, that mine and Pink Floyd's support of the Ukrainians could help boost morale in those areas: they need to know the whole world supports them. All proceeds from the song will go to Ukrainian humanitarian relief.

unnamed (1).jpg
bottom of page